CAC Exhibition | Datumsoria: Jon Kessler and YAN Lei

 

Curator

ZHANG Ga

 

Artists

Jon Kessler, YAN Lei

 

Opening

Thursday, November 08, 2018

3:30 - 4:30 Panel Discussion

5:00 - 7:00 Opening Reception

 

On View

Wednesday - Thursday 11:00 - 18:00

 

Chronus Art Center is pleased to present the international traveling exhibition Datumsoria: Jon Kessler and YAN Lei.

How images speak and represent has always been a central contention in visual art, particularly in a culture obsessively reliant on visual perception. The technically engendered image and its contemporary namesake the digital image, however, take on very different connotation than that which is rendered by human craft, painting, sculpture or otherwise in the myriad manifestation of contemporary art practice. While painterly image or other mediums employed through various physical materials are also beholden to ambiguity and poetic elucidation, image production through technical mechanisms opens a temporal dimension and energetic velocity that evokes more physiological - emotional intensity than an art which privileges critical distance for contemplation and signification. Images originated through dynamic manipulation of data on the fly furthermore defy the regime of representation, eliciting bifurcation of the referential and estrangement of intentionality, often alienating and sometimes even nonsensical, begging for an alternative logic for illumination and signification.

Known for his ingeniously crafted kinetic works, often inflicting a twist on pop culture imagery, Jon Kessler’s explicit portrait and figure, namely the supermodel Gisele Bündchen and the artist’s ten-year old nephew, are as manipulative as evasive by way of a mechanically rendered flurry of speeds and kaleidoscope of juxtapositions and superimpositions, insinuating infinite regressions and expansion at the same time, reminiscent of a paradoxical mixology of anxiety, humor, desire and failure that is characteristic of the contemporary American ethos or the world at large. The conceptual artist YAN Lei, on the other hand, resorts to Machine Learning as an added intellectual device in order to question conceptualism’s very gist, that of the power of signifying, making aware that in the age of Internet and Artificial Intelligence the production of meaning is as multifaceted as it is unstable and can sometimes be perilous. In the seemingly contradictory display of visual strategy, the voyeur and the exhibitionist and the constant inversion of the protagonists further complicated by their respective social intricacies, the works by the two artists nevertheless implicitly partake in the electro-mechanical prowess augmented irrevocably by digital volatility and algorithmic incidents, challenging the very notion of image as sign or as signifier.   

This exhibition is the third iteration of Art & Technology @ program under the auspices of Datumsoria.  A neologism, Datumsoria conjugates datum and sensoria, denoting a new perceptual space immanent to the information age.

 

 

YAN Lei: RÊVERIE Reset2017 ©Courtesy of ZKM

 

YAN Lei: RÊVERIE Reset2017 ©Courtesy of ZKM. Photo: Felix Gruenschloss

 

Jon Kessler: Gisele and the Cinopticon, 2004 ©Courtesy the Artist. Photo: Andrew Ohanesian

 

Jon Kessler: I'm Nothing Without You2012 ©Courtesy the Artist. Photo: Andrew Ohanesian

 

 

About the Artists

 

Jon Kessler, b. 1957, Yonkers, New York. With his chaotic kinetic installations, Jon Kessler critiques our image-obsessed, surveillance-dominated world. His machines are at once complex and lumbering, combining mechanical know-how with kitschy materials and images. Structurally complex and narratively engaging, Jon Kessler’s multimedia sculptures often deliver an emotional punch beyond their humble means. With his distinct vocabulary, Kessler taps into our all-too-real modern-day anxieties, but at the same time, spirits us away into an exciting wonderland that is ultimately uplifting. 

Kessler received his BFA from SUNY Purchase and the Whitney Independent Study Program. He was included in the 1985 and 2017 Whitney Biennials and his works are in many permanent collections including MoMA, Walker Art Center and MoCA. He has taught at Columbia University since 1994.

 

YAN Lei graduated from the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts (now known as the China Academy of Art), in Hangzhou, in 1991. Yan is a singular and unconventional figure in the Chinese contemporary art world. Adopting an independent and distant attitude, he explores and unveils different issues, such as power relationship, competition or the closeness of values and prices, that exist in the art system, through various media ranging from painting, sculpture, installation to video and performance. His works often incorporate multiple and often contradictory values. This ambiguousness shows, on the one hand, the artist’s alertness to and reflection on the various problems in art making today, and on the other, the solitude that he has from being part of the system and his complex feelings confronted with vulgar reality.

YAN Lei has participated in a great numbers of international exhibitions, including Istanbul Biennial, Guangzhou Triennial, Sao Paulo Biennale, Kwangju Biennale, Shanghai Biennial, Venice Biennale, etc.  He has also had solo exhibitions in museums such as the Hong Kong Art Centre, the UCCA Ullens Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing, and the Aspen Art Museum in Colorado in the United States. In 2002, YAN Lei was awarded ‘Best Artist’ by the C.C.A.A. (Chinese Contemporary Art Awards). He was invited to take part in Documenta in Kassel, Germany, in 2007 and 2012.

CAC·展览 | 术问:乔恩·凯斯勒&颜磊

 

策展人

张尕

 

参展艺术家

乔恩·凯斯勒,颜磊

 

开幕

2018.11.08 周四

3:30 - 4:30 开幕座谈

5:00 - 7:00 开幕式

 

特别感谢

中鸿创艺(北京)

 

参观信息

周三-周日 11:00 - 18:00

 

新时线媒体艺术中心(CAC)荣幸呈现国际巡展“术问:乔恩·凯斯勒&颜磊”。

图像如何表达与再现一直是视觉艺术的核心争论,这在一个过分依赖视觉感知的文化中尤为显著。有别于以手工技艺、如绘画、雕塑等亦或其它诸多当代艺术实践中的表现形态,由技术生成的图像及其当代之同名者,即数字图像,则负载了截然不同的含意。尽管绘画性图像或其它物理媒介也蕴含着朦胧而诗意的表达,技术机制所生产的图像则打开了一种时间的维度和能量的速度,因而相较有赖于批判性距离而感悟之艺术,则具有更为强烈的生理-情感强度。通过对流动数据的动态实时操控而生成的图像,进一步对抗再现的规则体系,导致指称功能发生分歧,以及意向的偏差,使其常常显得令人陌生,甚至也不乏荒谬,因而亟待寻求一种阐释和意义生成的另类逻辑。

乔恩·凯斯勒因其匠心独具的动态雕塑而知名,并常常对流行文化中的图像注入某种扭曲和误读。在其作品中呈现的肖像与人物,比如超模吉赛尔·邦成和艺术家本人十岁的侄子,既展示出精致的操控,又同时令人难以把握;它们在机械驱动下急速旋转,犹如万花筒般重叠并置,暗示着同步展开的无尽的倒退与扩张,不禁令人联想到当今美国乃至世界的一种五味杂陈的矛盾特征:焦虑和幽默、欲望与失败。另一方面,观念艺术家颜磊则将机器学习(Machine Learning)作为辅助的智能设备,以此质疑观念主义的根本要素,即指涉的表意力量,并试图昭示出在互联网与人工智能时代,意义的产生具有多重面向且变幻不定,有时甚至荒诞不经。在看似矛盾的视觉策略中,即观看者与展示者之角色的不断替换,并更因艺术家各自所处的社会背景而越发复杂,两位艺术家的作品则都微妙地发挥了在数字的变幻莫测和算法的事故重重中不断递增的电子机械魅力;从而挑战了图像作为符号或能指的概念。

本次展览为“术问”系列之第三版巡展,诞生于“艺术&技术@”项目框架。展览英文名“Datumsoria”系由“datum”(数据)与“sensoria”(感觉中枢)所结合而生成的新词,意指内在于信息时代的一种新的感知空间,相对应地,其中文名“术问”则寓意在汉语文化语境下由信息技术变革所带来的一种新的认知型的范式转移。

 

颜磊:《空想重置》,2016-2017 @ZKM|卡尔斯鲁厄艺术与媒体中心

 

颜磊:《空想重置》,2016-2017 @ZKM|卡尔斯鲁厄艺术与媒体中心,摄影: Felix Gruenschloss

 

乔恩·凯斯勒:《吉赛尔与全景影像》,2004 @艺术家,摄影:Andrew Ohanesian

 

 

乔恩·凯斯勒:《没有你我什么都不是》,2012 @艺术家,摄影:Andrew Ohanesian

 

 

关于艺术家

 

乔恩·凯斯勒(1957)出生于纽约扬克斯。凯斯勒借由其看似混乱无秩序的动能装置批判我们这个痴迷图像、监视主导的世界。他的机械乍看之下复杂又笨拙,将机械知识与媚俗的图像和材料进行结合。凯斯勒的多媒体雕塑由复杂的结构及动人的叙事性传达出一种超出其本身含义的情感冲击力。凯斯勒凭借其独特的语言,进入到我们对现代一切太过真实的焦虑,同时又将我们带入令人兴奋的幻境。

凯斯勒获得纽约州立大学佩切尔斯学院及惠特尼美术馆独立学习项目(Whitney Independent Study Program)的艺术学士学位。他曾参与过1985年及2017年惠特尼双年展。其部分作品永久收藏于现代艺术博物馆、沃克尔艺术中心以加当代艺术博物馆。他于1994年开始任教于哥伦比亚大学。

 

颜磊毕业于浙江美术学院(现中国美术学院),生活和工作在中国。颜磊在中国当代艺术圈特立独行,以独立审视的态度,透过绘画、雕塑、装置、录像、行为等不同媒介,挖掘和揭示艺术体制内部存在的权力、竞争、艺术价格价值混肴等问题。颜磊的作品调性模棱两可,呈现多重矛盾和冲突的价值观,一方面反映了艺术家对当代艺术创作所存在的种种问题的警觉和思考,以及他置身其中的孤独和对庸俗现实的复杂情绪。

颜磊参加过多项国际大型展览,包括伊斯坦布尔双年展、广州三年展、圣保罗双年展、光州双年展、上海双年展、威尼斯双年展。香港艺术中心、北京尤伦斯当代艺术中心(UCCA)和美国科罗拉多州阿斯蓬美术馆(Aspen Art Museum) 分别举办过颜磊的个展。2002年获中国当代艺术奖(CCAA)最杰出艺术家奖,2007和2012年连续两次获邀参加德国卡塞尔文件展(Documenta)。